Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 57
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.23 and Additions
Scope and Contents
Collections of programs, pamphlets and other items from the Williamsburg, Virginia area. Biography and photograph of Comer Clarke Jackson, Manager of Casey's Department Store.
Dates:
1969-2005; Majority of material found in 1969-1988
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents
Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...
Dates:
1880-1950
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg. This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year. Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members. Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates:
2000-2007
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 A7
Scope and Contents
Records of the Colonial Capitol Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities(APVA), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, financial and legal documents, minutes and photographs. The long run of minutes, 1900-1976, document the development and work of this preservation group which took an interest in the historical sites of Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. There is material relating to the Branch's work to preserve and restore the Capitol grounds, the...
Dates:
1896-1989
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.
Dates:
1909-1966
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2001.19 and 2002.63
Scope and Contents
Collection of photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, postcards and other items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia.
Dates:
1902-2001
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents
Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.
Dates:
1960-1990
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents
The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard,...
Dates:
1924-1927, 1985
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents
Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941. Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...
Dates:
1931-1985; Majority of material found in 1931-1962
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents
One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949. He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.
Dates:
1950-1999; Majority of material found in 1985-1995
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania. Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer. Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...
Dates:
1876-1933
Collection
Identifier: SC 00696
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of miscellaneous Williamsburg and Virginia related materials, compiled by Marianna Broaddus. Included are a Colonial Williamsburg Foundation library exhibit catalog (1991), a Williamsburg Reunion booklet, and a print of John Tyler, Sr.'s home in Greenway, Virginia. Also included are photographs, some of which relate to the Christian family, as well as typescripts (in part photocopies) of reminiscences of members of the Christian family about their life in...
Dates:
1917-1991
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.09
Scope and Contents
Records of the Capital Club of Williamsburg (formerly named the Middle Plantation Club of Williamsburg), which was founded by Rawls Byrd in 1966. The collection includes organizational histories, membership directories and rosters, meeting minutes, scrapbooks of club events, and other material.
Dates:
1960-2019; Majority of material found in 1970-2000
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents
The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.
Additions to the collection are described individually.
Dates:
1894-1999
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C37
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1884-1954, of Anne T. Chapman of Madison, Wisconsin and Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a civic and social leader in the community of Williamsburg who served as librarian of the Williamsburg Public Library from 1910-1942. Papers include correspondence, diaries, photographs, and newspaper clippings and concern Gamma Phi Beta, the Williamsburg Civic League, the Williamsburg Public Library, the Williamsburg Garden Club, Bruton Parish Church, and public health.Additions...
Dates:
1884-1954
Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents
These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Dates:
circa 1870s-2000s; Majority of material found in 1940-1980
Collection
Identifier: SC 00623
Scope and Contents
Candid photographs of Christian and Charles families, 1920's and 1930's, in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes photograph of a group of women around an indoor pool, with Margaret Lewis Tuthill noted; photographs of the Charles/Christian house from the front (facing Prince George Street), the side (facing Prince George and Nassau Streets) and the rear (facing Duke of Gloucester Street); and group shots of family and friends in front of the house. Names mentioned are...
Dates:
1923-1952
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Collection
Identifier: SC 01752
Scope and Contents
Oversize photograph of Williamsburg Colonial Pageant, Griffith, photographer from Newport News, Virginia, 1921. In very poor condition
Photograph of the pageant, cut into 7 pieces. One rolled photograph added in 2011, location uncertain in 2022.
2 programmes of the event.
Dates:
1921
Collection
Identifier: SC 01256
Scope and Contents
Obituaries and the story of Williamsburg residents Edwin A. Gilley and Comer C. Jackson who died when their car fell through the open draw on the Chickahominy Bridge, undated, obituary of murdered Harry Burleson of James City County in 1922, photograph of woman in a canoe with a note that it might be Virginia Waltrip, Notebook of handwritten stories by Ellsworth Ayers, dated 1909. There are also photographs of students from the Five Forks School.
Dates:
1909-1932; Majority of material found in 1909, 1920, 1922, 1932 and undated
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents
The collection contains papers documenting the lives of the Fay Parr family. The collection also includes Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia. Other materials contained in the collection includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents as well as buildings, newspaper clippings of events in Williamsburg, Virginia as well as publications from Williamsburg and other places.
Dates:
1920-2002
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 99 F37
Scope and Contents
Photographs taken by George Oscar Ferguson. Subjects include a parade in Williamsburg, Va., African-American schools in Virginia, Camp Lee, Virginia, rural scenes in western Virginia, and Ferguson.
Dates:
1915; Majority of material found in 1915
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.24
Scope and Contents
Fred Frechette's papers which include his Richmond Times-Dispatch newspaper articles on Williamsburg, Virginia, photographs and his script and related material on "The Once and Future Camelot" a production given for the Williamsburg Reunion. Material related to his duty as a volunteer fireman and his March 25, 2000 pamphlet "William and Mary Students and the Travis House, Feb. 1, 1943-Feb. 28, 1951."
Dates:
1930-2000; Majority of material found in 1950-2000
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.F95
Scope and Contents
Collection includes letters, citations, scripts of plays, photographs, slides and videos concerning Rosa Marie Fuller's teaching career and James A. Fuller's employment with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and his service with the Boy Scouts.
Dates:
1948-1989
Collection
Identifier: MS 00148
Scope and Contents
Memory Book of Mary Ware Galt of Williamsburg containing memorabilia, programs, photographs, souvenirs, correspondence, and ephemera from Williamsburg, Virginia and the Tidewater area, plus from her days as a student at Hampton College (1908-1909) in Hampton, Virginia and Stuart Hall (1909-1910) in Staunton, Virginia.
Dates:
1904-1910
